Mario Kart

MarioKartMarioSketch“LET’S-A GO!”

Here’s another request I did earlier this year, featuring Mario as he appeared in the Mario Kart 8 (note the anti-grav wheels).

So who else plays Mario Kart here? Fun fact: I’ve raced as Mario less than ten times in all Mario Kart games combined. Never really appealed to me for some reason.

When I played the very first Mario Kart game on the Super Nintendo, I was always Koopa, who is lightweight character with good handling. I beat the Grand Prix for the very first time using Koopa. He’ll always have a special place in my gaming heart.

With the newer Mario Kart games, I’ve found myself choosing Princess Daisy more often than not. In addition to her statistics (medium weight class with decent acceleration and handling), she’s the tomboy of the three Mario verse princess, and that is kind of super adorable.

Random thought: People say getting hit by a Blue Shell is bad, but I think getting hit by a Green Shell is worse. Sure, Blue Shells are unavoidable and often take you out of first place… Green Shells, on the other hand, are embarrassing to get hit by. They’ve zero homing capabilities and bounce everywhere. It’s bad enough if you’re knocked out by a skilled player who launches one at you, but when you’re hit by a random one ricocheting off a wall is all kinds of frustrating. AND DON’T EVEN GET ME STARTED ON GETTING HIT BY MY OWN GREEN SHELL.

ULTIMATE DISGRACE.

*exhales*

I’m alright.

Happy Racing, everyone!

Leave a comment